Cardbordeaux: living, cycling, and culture-sampling in the southwest of France

Lauzun France wine cheese

BLOG – 30 stories and photos about life in rural France

Cardbordeaux: The classy term for boxed wine. — Urban Dictionary

In January 2014, I bumped into fellow travel writer Ian Cook and his wife Sue O’Rourke on a quiet laneway in the Indian village of Fontainhas, Goa. They asked if I’d be willing to stay at their chateau east of Bordeaux, France and take care of their cat for a few months.

“It’s a tiny, medieval village called Lauzun with a castle, bakery down the road, a café, British ex-pats, village markets, fruit orchards, and an amazing network of rural back roads for cycling,” Ian suggested, “And our cat Friday is really cute…”

“Hey,” I replied, “You had me at ‘chateau.'”

I booked a flight to Bordeaux, arrived in November 2015 and stayed in Lauzun over the winter. After that I visited the city of Bordeaux for a few days, and then Paris.

I created a blog called Cardbordeaux – ignorance and bliss in the southwest of France to capture the adventure: the stories, the photos, and cycling maps of the Aquitaine region of southwestern France.

Visit the blog now: Cardbordeaux – ignorance and bliss in the southwest of France.

